Courses Offered

  • Texas License to Carry (LTC) Course
  • Basic Handgun Class
  • Advanced Handgun Course
  • Basic Home Defense Class
  • Advanced Home Defense Course
  • Defensive Knife Skills Course
  • Couples Defense Course
  • Improvised Weapons/Unarmed Defense Course
  • Texas License To Carry (LTC) Course 
         (Texas Concealed Handgun License)

The Texas LTC Course is the requirement to carry a handgun openly or concealed in the State of Texas. This 5-6 hour course will cover all aspects of the law as it relates to carrying and/or using a firearm for self-defense. Range qualification will take place following the classroom portion of the course. Plan to spend about 8 hours for the entire course.

Cost – Pre-scheduled classes: $75
Cost – Private individual or small group classes: $125 + travel expenses


What to bring to class:
*Handgun (.32 cal or greater)  
Min 50 rds of ammuntion (Factory ammunition ONLY, no reloads)
       (Please do not bring ANY ammunition into the classroom)
Eye and Ear protection
Hat or Ball cap
Water
Sunscreen
Pen
*Rental guns are available ($10) but the student must provide 50rds of 9mm ammunition.


  • Basic Handgun Class

The Basic Handgun Class provides the student a hands-on approach to learning about his/her handgun at the most basic level and above! This class covers handgun basics, such as nomenclature, grip, sight picture/sight alignment, loading and unloading, breakdown and cleaning, and proper ammunition selection. If you don't own your own gun yet, or are trying to decide what to buy - this course is for you! Tactical Awareness Concepts will provide a wide array of handguns for the student to test their fit, discuss their pros and cons and even test shoot. This class is about 1-2 hours in length.

Cost: $65 

What to bring to class:
*Handgun (.32 cal or greater)  
*A variety of handguns can be provided to the student to determine size, fit and appropriate caliber selection.


  • Advanced Handgun Course

The Advanced Handgun Course will take the student beyond the basics of simple firearms handling. This course teaches and trains the student in proper and appropriately-tactical carry techniques, drawing from the holster, close-range defensive shooting techniques and shooting/moving techniques. This course does not have a predetermined length.

Cost: $125 

What to bring to class:
Personal Defensive Handgun  
Minimum 200 rds of ammunition
 

  • Basic Home Defense Class

The Basic Home Defense Class provides the student an in-home review of their currently security level and methods and techniques to improve the basic security of their home. This class is about 1-hour in length.

Cost: $65 


 

  • Advanced Home Defense Course

The Advanced Home Defense Course will teach/train the student in the proper method to defend their home with a handgun, long-gun or both. This course will explain the safest ways to defend their home against an intruder and will discuss proper fields of fire, proper angles of fire and quasi-Safe Room employment. This course does not have a predetermined length.

Cost: $125


 

  • Defensive Knife Skills Course

​The Defensive Knife Skills Course will teach/train the student in defensive knife skills to defend against an attack, create space between the attacker and the defender and then how to re-engage as necessary. This is a dynamic course that involves close-range knife techniques for defensive purposes.

Cost: $150 

What to bring to class:
Eye protection

​​

  • Couples Defense Course

Your spouse can be your biggest asset, or a potential detriment, in a defensive shooting scenario. IF that person knows how to locate cover and concealment, understands how to move "as a team" and understands simple codewords and movement techniques, then the couple can be a formidable opponent if ever attacked or if they ever find themselves in an active shooter situation.

Cost: $125 

What to bring to class:
Eye protection


  • Improvised Weapons/Unarmed Defense Course

The Improvised Weapons/Unarmed Defense Course is for those students from young to old who live, travel or work in a non-permissive environment, as it applies to carrying a firearm. If you travel frequently, work in an environment where you cannot carry a firearm, attend a college where firearms are not allowed, are too young to carry a firearm or are simply worried about your spouse, son or daughter when they’re “out and about”, this course covers defensive techniques when the defender is unarmed. It will teach/train the student in the proper method to defend themselves with whatever is available at-hand and the appropriate use of the improvised weapon(s) they acquire. This course does not have a predetermined length.

Cost: $100 

​What to bring to class:
Eye protection